Your local Election Day information article


Election Day will grace Redding this Tuesday, Nov. 3. Are you ready to cast your ballot in local races?

In town, voters will be asked to cast their votes for a number of elected positions, including first selectman, selectman, town clerk, town treasurer, tax collector, Board of Finance, Board of Education, Board of Assessment Appeals, Planning Commission, Zoning Commission, Zoning Board of Appeals, constable, and the Region 9 Board of Education.

All Redding residents vote at the Redding Community Center, located at 37 Lonetown Road.

Polls will be open at the community center from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Contested races — in which there will be winners and losers — include those for first selectman (and by proxy, selectman), Board of Education and Board of Finance. For all other races, the number of candidates nominated equals the number of open positions.

In the first selectman race, incumbent Democrat Julia Pemberton is challenged by Republican Eric Witt.

Connecticut law dictates the town’s selectmen are decided in a runoff between candidates for selectman and the loser of the race for first selectman.

In short, if the defeated candidate for first selectman earns a greater number of votes for first selectman than incumbent selectman candidates Republican Michael Thompson or Democrat Leon Karvelis earn for their posts, the defeated first selectman candidate is elected a selectman. In that situation, one of the candidates specifically running for selectman would not be elected to the board.

There are two open positions on the Board of Finance and three candidates — two Republicans and one Democrat.

Jim Sanders, a new candidate, and Ward Mazzucco, an incumbent, are Republican candidates. Peg O’Donnell, the town’s longtime treasurer, is the Democratic candidate.

The Board of Education has three openings this election cycle. Candidates include one incumbent Democrat, Gwen Denny, Democrat Melinda Irwin, and Republicans John Reilly and Michael Hoffman.

Candidates for two positions in town are running with endorsements from both the Republican and Democratic parties. Current Town Clerk Michele Grande and current Tax Collector Patricia Moisio are both cross-endorsed.


First selectman:

  • Julia Pemberton (D)
  • Eric Witt (R)


  • Leon Karvelis (D)
  • Michael Thompson (R)

Town clerk

  • Michele R. Grande (cross-endorsed)

Town treasurer

  • Janice Meehan (D)

Tax collector

  • Patricia J. Moisio (cross-endorsed)

Board of Finance

  • Margaret “Peg” O’Donnell (D)
  • Jim Sanders (R)
  • Ward Mazzucco (R)

Board of Education

  • Gwen Denny (D)
  • Melinda L. Irwin (D)
  • Michael Hoffman (R)
  • John Reilly (R)

Board of Assessment Appeals (full term)

  • Frederick Miller (R)

Board of Assessment Appeals (to fill two-year vacancy)

  • Margi Esten (D)

Planning Commission

  • Nancy E. King (D)
  • Diane F. Taylor (R)

Zoning Commission

  • Paul R. Scholl (D)
  • Gerald Casiello (R)
  • Matthew Lecher (R)

Zoning Board of Appeals

  • Elizabeth F. Williams (D)
  • Coleen A. Litof (R)
  • R. Bruce Given (R)


  • Charles “Chuck” Mullaney (D)
  • Jane M. Ross (D)
  • Annet Bonfanti (D)
  • William Cook (R)
  • Peter Bielawa (R)
  • Urs Furrer (R)
  • Leif R. Smith (Green)

Regional Board of Education

  • Mike D’Agostino (D)
  • Chris Hocker (R)












About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. The Redding Pilot, 16 Bailey Avenue, Ridgefield, CT 06877

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress